Mallards Wood
You are here

Early Years Foundation Stage ('EYFS')

Posted 30 Jul 2020

How EYFS supports your child’s 'Seven Areas of Learning'.

From when your child is born, up until the age of 5,  is a very important stage in your child’s development. The  experiences in their early year’s should be happy, active, exciting, fun and secure; supporting  their development, care and learning needs.

Our Nursery is required to follow the Early Years Foundation Stage Framework ('EYFS'), which sets standards for the learning, development and care of children. The ‘Seven areas of  Learning’, as outlined within the EYFS, is used to plan your child’s learning and activites.

Children should mostly develop the ‘3 prime areas’ first. These are:

  • Communication and language;
  • Physical development; and
  • Personal, social and emotional development.

These prime areas are those most essential for your child’s healthy development and future learning.

As children grow, there are a further four prime areas of learning, these will help them to develop skills in ‘4 specific areas’. These are:

  • Literacy;
  • Mathematics;
  • Understanding the world; and
  • Expressive arts and design.

For More Information regarding EYFS

Call us 020 8498 9739